Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Alpha Tau Alpha Welcomes New Members

2013 Initiation of New Members into ATA

Twelve students were initiated into the Eta Chapter of Alpha Tau Alpha on Tuesday, November 19th. Alpha Tau Alpha is a national, professional, honorary, agricultural society. It is founded upon the development of true professional spirit and grown in agriculture.

The 2013 Alpha Tau Alpha initiates.
(Back Row) Kate Bassett, Morgan Campbell, Amanda Forstater,
Katherine Andrews, Janae Van Buskirk & Toby Neal.
(Front Row) Jillian Gordon, Jena Shaffer, Laura Metrick,
Bryanna Kenno and Deanna Miller.

The initiation ceremony took place in the Ferguson building at Universtiy Park. It was led by current members of ATA and Advisor Daniel Foster.  New initiate and 2015 Student Teacher, Janae VanBuskirk stated “I am excited to begin this new experience. I have ever been involved in an organization like this. It is nice to be recognized as students who work hard for their grades. I think all of the initiates are excited to grow out professionally and to ultimately make new friends with the same goals!”

The society was founded in 1921 and the Eta Chapter was organized at Penn State in 1931. The organization strives to promote the high standards and ideals in agricultural and extension education and to promote the bond between individuals in and those that have interest in the world of agriculture and extension education.

 2014 Student Teachers helping with the ATA initiation ceremony.
Another 2015 Student Teacher and ATA Initiate Morgan Campbell said “Becoming an ATA member is an exciting and rewarding accomplishment. I am proud to be a member of an organization that represents the professionalism and camaraderie of agriculture educators!”

The twelve students who have just joined the Eta Chapter of Alpha Tau Alpha will enjoy the fellowship of individuals in an atmosphere of high scholarship that is dedicated to teaching, and who have a sincere desire to be a leader in agricultural education. The Students are; Katherine Andrews, Kate Bassett, Morgan Campbell, Amanda Forstater, Jillian Gordon, Megan Keller, Bryanna Keno, Laura Metrick, Deanna Miller, Toby Neal, Jena Shaffer and Janae VanBuskirk  

To learn more about starting on the path to having a career that makes a positive impact on the lives of students across the globe by becoming an agricultural educator, please contact the agricultural teacher education program at Follow us on Twitter at TeachAgPSU, on Facebook, or on our blog!

Laura Metrick 
Student Blogger
2015 Student Teacher
Twitter: @Its_LauraBeth

No comments:

Post a Comment