Tuesday, October 25, 2016

National FFA Convention: Lives transformed!

As a sophomore in High School, I attended my first National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. That year FFA celebrated 84 years of convention, and encouraged attendees to believe in their ability to create change that positively impacts the future of agriculture. After attending the first session of the convention, I was immensely impressed with the empowering atmosphere created by members, advisors, and guests that filled the arena. Fully immersed in the session, I became inspired to believe in the future of agriculture and the role I can play to make a difference in the future.

Fast forward to last week as the 89th National FFA Convention returned to Indianapolis, Indiana. Although I did not attend, I realized there could potentially be a sophomore attending convention experiencing what I did five years ago. They were encouraged, empowered, and inspired to create change in agriculture. This realization came about because their Agricultural Science teacher afforded them an opportunity to attend FFA convention. I am thankful that my Agricultural Science teacher provided me the opportunity to attend convention.I became aware of my ability to create change as a future Agriculture Science teacher. I will prepare students for these moments, when they discover their potential and ability to create a positive impact. I look forward to experiencing this next year when I travel to National FFA Convention with my cooperating centers. 

This year, the seven 2017 Penn State Student Teachers had an amazing opportunity to experience convention with their cooperating centers, and engage with their future students.

Along with the seven 2017 Penn State Student Teachers, eighteen students studying Agricultural and Extension Education and other agriculture related majors participated in National Alpha Tau Alpha competitions. Below is a list of placing and highlights from each contest:

Essay Contest
Individual Division Submission- Rosalind Cowan (1st)
Team Division Submission- Kayla Hack and Evelyn Zaleski (1st), Tony Rice and Kolbey Stewart (2nd), 

Debate Contest
Debate Team- Matthew Rider, Michael Cahill, Matthew Snyder, Rosalind Cowen

Program of Excellence
Professional Development- Penn State Teach Ag! Society (1st)
Fellowship- Penn State Teach Ag! Society (1st)
Community Service- Penn State Teach Ag! Society (1st)

Parliamentary Procedure
Parliamentary Procedure Team (R to L)- 
George Dietrich, Katelyn Brouse, Ali Emig, Alicia Gates, Emily Schultz  (4th)

Delegate Representation
Delegates for the Eta Chapter- Sara Lang and George Dietrich

Along with all the individual and team achievements, the Penn State Teach Ag! Society was able to receive recognition as the recipient of the A.W. Nolan Memorial Leadership Award at the ATA Conclave. These are achievements our members can be proud of! 

To learn more about starting on the path to having a career that makes a positive impact on the lives of students across the globe by becoming an agricultural educator, please contact the agricultural teacher education program at teachag@psu.edu. Follow us on Twitter at TeachAgPSU, on Facebook, or on our blog.

                                                                           Halee Wasson
Student Blogger
Twitter Handle: @wasson_halee
2018 Agriculture Education Student Teacher

No comments:

Post a Comment